The Drive of all Drives

So after Joshua Tree I spent some time in Los Angeles.  I have decided that Los Angeles is truly not the place for me… everyone seems to be in a rush and then waiting in three hour traffic regardless of where they are going.  I had a great time catching up with friends there but the city itself seemed like an incredibly hard place to live.

After Los Angeles I headed up the Pacific Coast Highway.  Seeing the PCH for the first time felt like a truly incredible experience.  The vastness of the Pacific Ocean stretching left and colliding with the enormous mountains on my right was a truly epic depiction of land meeting sea with a tiny stretch of road in between.  This tiny stretch of road felt like the ultimate personification of my state of being… riding the line between land and sea.  My body going through the motions on land while my heart is somewhere lost at sea.

I arrived in San Francisco after a long stretch of what felt like the most beautiful part of the country thus far.  Big Sur was entirely more captivating in real life.  I was faced with my inevitable love hate relationship with the Pacific Ocean as I rode along its side the entire way up to Northern California, but my captivation with its power haunted me the entire drive.

As I drove up the coast I witnessed a number of interactions that pulled on my heart strings.  The first of these series of interactions happened when I pulled over to one of the pull offs to soak in the view.  As I stood there starring into the Pacific Ocean’s vastness, a man and woman were standing together on one of the rocks that you could climb out onto.  Just as I looked over I saw him get down on one knee.  I thought about what that would feel like, to be in the most beautiful place and then have the love of your life propose.  It was a truly beautiful thing to witness. I saw an old couple holding hands, a man holding his baby son on his shoulders… I felt in that moment the importance of human relationships.  They really are the most important part of life.

However, arriving in San Francisco after this experience felt abrupt.  City life doesn’t stop, everyone has a mission and somewhere to be.  The fragile human moments that happen in between seem fewer and farther between.  I think it’s important to experience both, though.  But for now, I’ll take the slower version of life.

Leave a Reply

